Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

“Love is a Sacrifice”, was written because of the Couples Valentines Party that my mom organized in 2015. Ana and I were looking for some Valentines songs to sing, but we had a really hard time finding a Christian song that was actually love themed, that we liked, that we could sing, and that worked for the party. Well, one day my older sister was just playing around on the piano, and I was doing something, but I don’t remember what. Randomly, Ana played this awesome sounding chord, and when we both heard it, we immediately started figuring out a chord progression with this chord in it. Then Ana said that I should write a song about love for the Valentine’s party out of this chord progression, and I did.

If there is one thing out of all the things my dad taught me that I could never forget, it is what love is. Even when I was around Esther’s age, my little eight year old sister,  I remember my dad ingraining in me, “Love is not a feeling, but a choice”, and I also remember thinking about my crush when I was little, “I know that I don’t really love him, but I still want to marry him when I grow up.” I am so thankful that growing up, I was taught what love truly is. 1 Corinthians 13 tells us that love is patient, love is kind, does not envy, does not boast, and is not proud. But what is love? The way I always define it is: love is a choice that we make to care about someone in a self-sacrificial way. There is a verse that I think everyone knows that tells the greatest example of love, and that’s John 3:16– For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son that whoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

